We divide your heart rate zone into 5 different zones:

1. intensity zone 1 (I1)

Training in the intensity zone 1 is for active recovery after competitions or hard training. Energy is provided almost exclusively by fat metabolism. The power intensity in these units is less than 50 percent of the "Individual Anaerobic Threshold".

2. intensity zone 2 (I2)

Training in I2 leads to the formation of new mitochondria in the muscles (mitochondria are the "energy power plants" of your cells and are responsible for cellular respiration) and therefore promotes aerobic capacity, which is the basis for long endurance performance. GA training improves and economizes the cardiovascular-respiratory system and forms the basis for more intensive loads. The training zone is between 50%-77% of the anaerobic threshold.

3. intensity zone 3 (I3)

I3 training is also used to develop basic endurance capacity, but unlike I2, it mainly leads to capillarization (improvement of the vascular network). The metabolism is in the aerobic range, so that the energy supply is still ensured by the fat metabolism, but with an increasing share of the carbohydrate metabolism. Here one is in the range 77%-90% of the anaerobic threshold.

4. intensity zone 4 (I4)

This is used to optimize and develop the aerobic-anaerobic transition zone, the so-called threshold power. It also improves lactate elimination. Carbohydrate metabolism is predominantly stressed. The heart rate is between 90%-110% of the anaerobic threshold.

5. intensity zone 5 (I5)

Peak range training is used to develop competition-specific speed endurance and quickness, improve maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max), and anaerobic performance. It is also referred to as lactate tolerance training. This training primarily addresses anaerobic metabolism and has very little aerobic components. Thus, energy is provided via carbohydrate and phosphate metabolism. The heart rate is above 110% of the anaerobic threshold.